Vital Football

Latest Plymouth Argyle News

PFA League Two Team Of The Year 2017

PFA League Two Team Of The Year 2017

This week the Professional Footballers Association announced their League Two Team of the Year for the season of 2016/17.

With a handful of games remaining in the current season, the PFA will be holding their 44th awards ceremony in London this Sunday (April 23).

Ahead of the event which will see the PFA Player and Young Player and the WSL Player and Young Player of the Year winners announced - Click Here for shortlists - the votes from PFA members from 100 clubs from the Premier League, Football League and Women's Super League have been tallied to compile the divisional select XI's for the campaign.

Not surprisingly given the battle at the top of League Two this year, Doncaster Rovers, Plymouth Argyle and Portsmouth all feature.

Luke McCormick - Plymouth Argyle
Enda Stevens - Portsmouth
Christian Burgess - Portsmouth
Sonny Bradley - Plymouth Argyle
Kelvin Mellor - Blackpool
Luke Berry - Cambridge United
Graham Carey - Plymouth Argyle
James Coppinger - Doncaster Rovers
Nicky Adams - Carlisle United
Danny Hylton - Luton Town
John Marquis - Doncaster Rovers

The other divisional Team of the Years were announced as.

Premier League
David de Gea - Manchester United
Kyle Walker - Tottenham Hotspur
Gary Cahill - Chelsea
Davis Luiz - Chelsea
Danny Rose - Tottenham Hotspur
Eden Hazard - Chelsea
Dele Alli - Tottenham Hotspur
N'Golo Kante - Chelsea
Sadio Mane - Liverpool
Harry Kane - Tottenham Hotspur
Romelu Lukaku - Everton

David Stockdale - Brighton
Ryan Sessegnon - Fulham
Jamal Lascelles - Newcastle United
Lewis Dunk - Brighton
Bruno - Brighton
Anthony Knockaert - Brighton
Jonjo Shelvey - Newcastle United
Aaron Mooy - Huddersfield Town
Tom Cairney - Fulham
Dwight Gayle - Newcastle United
Chris Wood - Leeds United

League One
Simon Moore - Sheffield United
James Meredith - Bradford City
David Wheater - Bolton Wanderers
Mark Beevers - Bolton Wanderers
Kieron Freeman - Sheffield United
John Fleck - Sheffield United
Erhun Oztumer - Walsall
Josh Morris - Scunthorpe United
Mark Duffy - Sheffield United
James Vaughan - Bury
Billy Sharp - Sheffield United


Writer:Site Staff
Date:Saturday April 22 2017
Time: 9:00AM

Login to post a comment

Best of Vital Network

Recent Plymouth Argyle Articles

A Great Testament To The Players And Staff

The Sky Bet Manager of the Month winners for February 2018 are in, this has seen Derek Adams named as the top boss in League 1.

Could L1 & L2 Get A Much Needed Cash Boost?

The EFL have crunched the full attendance numbers for the season of 2016/17 and their...

February PotM Nomination - Lameiras (Plymouth)

The February nominations for the Sky Bet League One Player of the Month Award are in.

February MotM Nomination - Adams (Plymouth)

The February nominations for the Sky Bet League One Manager of the Month Award are in.

Plymouth Argyle Archived Articles

Vital Argyle articles from

Site Journalists

Write for Vital Argyle
Write For Vital Argyle
Apply Here

Current Poll (see more polls)

Finishing position in League One?
Suggested By: Plymouth Vital
Automatic promotion9%
Play offs16%
Just outside play offs8%
Mid table23%
Just outside relegation6%
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent Plymouth Argyle Results (view all)

Plymouth Argyle Fixtures

Write for Vital Football